Home Forums Foundation 2 Cohort 21

• Amanda

March 4, 2021 at 11:21 am

I was a Catholic school kid and was raised in a large Irish-Catholic family where Sunday Mass was only missed if you were on your death bed. I was a serious Catholic adult and even started a Master’s degree in multi-cultural ministry at the Franciscan School of Theology in Berkeley, which in of itself was an awesome place where several different Christian faiths and non-Christian faiths came to study at each other’s schools. St. Francis has always been my saint of choice and both my father and grandfather are named Francis, so we go far back. I did not finish the program, for a couple of strong reasons, which I am sure will be shared over the course of the year, but for this particular question one is important. As I studied the Catholic faith in detail, God, Source, all the names, became too big for it to stay in the frame of Catholicism. However, my family remains Catholic and I am a regular attendee of all important occasions that continue to occur in the church and I credit a lot of the good parts of myself to my upbringing.