Home Forums Initial Post – Foundation Three Discussion Cohort 20

• Sophie Turner

October 5, 2020 at 12:31 am

Threshold, I have struggled a little in getting my head around threshold, it has required some reframing for it to click and to go “ahh” yes I know that space well. For me when I am in threshold I can only describe it as discombobulating, I feel on the edge of a precipice like something within me is about to shift in some way, I know there will be an insight and a shift, but knowing that doesn’t always make it easy to sit in that space, the earth feels like a water bed. I have to lean into the discomfort and trust the process. Some days I’m all for it, “F@#! Yeah give me your best” and other days it is really hard to sit in that place.

For me, as the coachee, in threshold the best thing the coach did was hold the space, allow me the time to process, sit with me through my discomfort.

Now as a coach, I hold space well, it is one of my strengths, I believe it has been well honed through nursing and looking after people at the most vulnerable. For people first experiencing threshold in a coaching setting, I normalise it for them and support them in this space, I encourage them to trust the process.

Nature as a guide in threshold is powerful, I find it to be calming, teaching me and nurturing while at the same time challenging old beliefs/patterns and empowering the change from within. Since starting this course I’ve been practicing deep listening in nature and with the sacred questions am in awe of how much I can learn from the different birds around me. I notice the bird song now wherever I am, it is no longer a background noise I have to focus on but wherever I am the bird song always seems to be the first I hear.