Home Forums Brain and Change 1 Discussion (July 2020)

• mariarosagalter

August 14, 2020 at 11:54 am

I’ve had two practice client sessions in the past week, one with a new client, and the other with an established practice client with whom I’ve been working for a few months. I’ll briefly discuss the initial intake session with my new client, and then go more in depth with the assignment questions based on my recent session with my established client.

Client A, my new client, is a woman approaching her 60s and wants to explore what’s next for her both “workwise and spiritually”. Her professional background has focused on helping professions–social work, early childhood, and currently a concierge service helping individuals with personal or household tasks. She was in a chaplaincy program that has gone bankrupt because of COVID and now feels “stuck”. She wants to “return to the blind risk of youth with more wisdom”. Her work and life experiences, including addiction and co-dependency issues, personality patterns, as well as what she calls “failures in work-related issues” have made her fear taking risks. She gets energized talking about “repurposing, seeing potential in things/people, and wants to restore things/people”. She connects with Nature and Spirit at a deep level and feels she is really “good at helping others direct their lives” but can’t do that for herself.